Saturday,22 September, 2018
Current issue | Issue 1287, (17 - 23 March 2016)
Saturday,22 September, 2018
Issue 1287, (17 - 23 March 2016)

Ahram Weekly

Egypt’s slam dunk

For the first time, Egypt was named as host nation of the U-19 World Basketball Championship, reports Inas Mazhar

Al-Ahram Weekly

The Central Board of the International Basketball Federation Association (FIBA) on Saturday announced that Egypt and Italy were named as host nations of the 2017 FIBA U-19 World Championship.Egypt will host the men’s event and Italy the women’s.The 2016 FIBA U-17 World Championship for men and women will take place in Zaragoza, Spain.

The Egyptian capital of Cairo will be the backdrop of next year's U-19 tournament, the first-ever FIBA world youth event staged in Africa. Egypt also became the first Arab country to win a World Basketball Championship bid. The Egyptian file was approved by the central board and received the highest votes from the first round after competing against cities from Italy, Latvia and Israel. Meanwhile, the Italian cities of Udine and Cividale Del Friuli will host the FIBA U-19 Women's World Championship.

This summer's FIBA U-17 World Championship for men and women will be played jointly for the first time ever — as part of a youth world basketball festival — from 22 June to 3 July. This comes after FIBA endorsed the Spanish Basketball Federation (FEB)'s proposal to hold a unique and innovative sporting event that combines all the elements most attractive to youth basketball players — competition, fun, shared experience, music and technology.

Young players from 16 men's and 16 women's national teams — and united by the excitement of basketball — will have the opportunity to be part of a diverse community, sharing experiences with people of the same age group from different cultures and backgrounds.

The men’s championship is scheduled to take place from 23 June to 3 July with Egypt and Mali representing Africa. The Americas will be represented by the US, Canada, Argentina and the Dominican Republic, while Asia will feature South Korea, Chinese Taipei and China. Europe will have Bosnia & Herzegovina, Lithuania, Turkey, France and Finland whereas Australia will be the sole representative of Oceania. Spain is the host nation.

The women’s event will also be held in Spain from 22 June to 2 July. In addition to the host nation, Mali and Nigeria will represent Africa while Canada, Brazil, the US and Mexico will represent the Americas. Asia will be represented by China, Japan and South Korea while Europe will be led by the Czech Republic, Portugal, Italy, Latvia and France. Again, the Oceania group will be represented by Australia in the women’s event.

The world governing body for basketball is an independent association of 215 national basketball federations throughout the world. It is recognised as the sole competent authority in basketball by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

search keywords

add comment

  • follow us on