Friday,22 February, 2019
Current issue | Issue 1324, (15 - 21 December 2016)
Friday,22 February, 2019
Issue 1324, (15 - 21 December 2016)

Ahram Weekly

Salah, Sobhi on Africa’s shortlist

Al-Ahram Weekly

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has released the nominees for the 2016 Glo-CAF Awards.

The categories included the Women’s Player of the Year, National Team of the Year, Club of the Year, Coach of the Year, Women’s National Team of the Year, Youth Player of the Year, Most Promising Talent, Referee of the Year, Football Leader of the Year, Fair Play Award, African Legend, Platinum Award and Africa Finest XI.

For the African Player of the Year, they are:

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borrusia Dortmund)

Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester City)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma)

Islam Slimani (Algeria & Leicester City)

For the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa), the top five are:

Khama Billiat (Mamelodi Sundowns & Zimbabwe)

Keegan Dolly (Mamelodi Sundowns & South Africa)

Rainford Kalaba (TP Mazembe & Zambia)

Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns & South Africa)

Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns & Uganda)

Nominees for the Women’s Player of the Year include Asisat OSHOALA (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies), Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Kvarnsvedensik), Gabrielle ABOUDI ONGUENE (Cameroon & Rossiyank), Janine VAN WYK (South Africa & JVW) and Raissa FEUDJIO TCHUANYO (Cameroon & Aland United).

For the Most Promising Talent award the nominees are Elia MESCHAK (DR Congo & TP Mazembe), Kelechi IHEANACHO (Nigeria & Manchester City), Naby KEITA (Guinea & RB Leipzig) Oghenekaro ETEBO (Nigeria & CD Feirense) and Egypt’s Ramadan SOBHI (Egypt & Stoke City).

For the Youth Player of the Year the following youngsters were nominated: Alex IWOBI (Nigeria & Arsenal), Eric AYIAH (Ghana U-17), Franck KESSIE (Cote d’Ivoire & Atalanta), Sandra OWUSU-ANSAH (Ghana & Supreme Ladies) and Sidiki MAIGA (Mali U-20).

The nominees for Coach of the Year include Florent IBENGE (DR Congo), Milutin ‘Micho’ SREDOJEVIC (Uganda), Pitso MOSIMANE (Mamelodi Sundowns), Nacer SANDJAK (MO Bejai) and Florence OMAGBEMI (Nigeria women’s national team).

Referee of the Year award saw only three names: Egyptian Gehad Greisha, Papa Gasama of Gambia and Malang Diedhiou of Senegal.

Egypt›s Zamalek club was among the five nominees for Club of the Year award alongside Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa), MO Bejaia (Algeria), TP Mazembe (DR Congo) and Zesco United (Zambia).

Five teams appeared on the list of nominees for the National Team of the Year award including DR Congo, Guinea Bissau, Nigeria U-23, Senegal and Uganda.

Cameroon, Ghana, Nigeria, South Africa and Zimbabwe were nominated for the Women’s National Team of the Year.

The winners will be decided by votes from CAF Technical & Development, media committees and a panel of 20 experts (journalists and TV consultants) except Fair Play, Legend and Platinum awards which are not subject to a vote. For this year, there will be no votes for the Youth National Team of the Year. Referee of the Year will be voted only by the CAF Referees Committee.

All the winners will be announced at the Glo-CAF Awards gala scheduled for Thursday 5 January 2017 in Abuja, Nigeria.

add comment

  • follow us on