Monday,17 June, 2019
Current issue | Issue 1366, (26 October - 1 November 2017)
Monday,17 June, 2019
Issue 1366, (26 October - 1 November 2017)

Ahram Weekly

Cristiano Ronaldo yet again

The Portuguese great wins his fifth FIFA best player in the world award, tying Lionel Messi, reports Marawan Zayed


The Portuguese superstar has done it again as he was crowned FIFA’s best player in the world for 2017 to make it two in a row and draw level with Lionel Messi with five such awards apiece.

The last 10 years have witnessed only two winners for best player in the world and these two sit level today thanks to Ronaldo’s incredible season. The 32-year-old had yet another stunning campaign for Madrid in 2016-17 as he led the Blancos to a La Liga and Champions League double, including a brace in the Champions League final against Juventus in a man of the match performance. Moreover, Ronaldo netted 25 times in La Liga last season and added 12 goals in the Champions League to round off another sensational goal scoring season even though he had much better seasons in terms of goals scored.

Messi, meanwhile, scored incredible 54 goals in 52 appearances in all competitions last season, but only managed to get his hands on the Copa del Rey with Barca. It was ultimately Madrid’s title wins that assured victory for their star forward.

As for Neymar he had arguably his best ever season with Barca but once again his failure to win meaningful silverware cost him the trophy which he’ll surely hope to win after deciding to leave Spain for PSG this season.

Ronaldo was obviously delighted to retain the award that saw him go level with Messi after football fans around the world doubted he could do so.

“Thank you a lot, to the guys who voted for me. I must also mention Leo and Neymar for being here,” Ronaldo said after receiving the prize. “Real Madrid — the coach, the supporters and the president — they support all of the year so I say thank you to them.

“I’m really glad to win consecutive awards. This is a great moment for me. Thank you to all the fans around the world for the support. I appreciate that, thank you very much.

“It’s great to be here with these great players and I am so happy guys, thank you so much.”

These were Ronaldo’s words as he received his award in London Monday night from the Brazilian mega star with the same name, Ronaldo, as well as the Argentine legend Maradona.

Arsenal’s Olivier Giroud won the Puskas award for the best goal in 2016-2017, his ‘scorpion kick’ against Crystal Palace in January, while Zinedine Zidane as expected won manager of the year award and Buffon took home goalkeeper of the year after some heroic performances in the CL until Ronaldo killed him in the final.

As for the FIFPro world 11 the team featured Buffon, Alves, Ramos, Bonucci, Marcelo, Kroos, Modric, Iniesta, Ronaldo, Messi and Neymar.

This season promises to very exciting and entertaining as Ronaldo and Messi will go head to head hoping to win their sixth player of the year award while Neymar will surely do his best with PSG to get his hands on the award for the first time and break the Ronaldo-Messi hammerlock.

add comment

  • follow us on