Thursday,21 February, 2019
Current issue | Issue 1368, (9 - 15 November 2017)
Thursday,21 February, 2019
Issue 1368, (9 - 15 November 2017)

Ahram Weekly

Fishing for titles

Egypt’s swimmer Farida Osman was named Best Female Athlete from Africa, reports Inas Mazhar

Farida Osman

Since becoming the first Egyptian to win a medal at the Swimming World Champions, Farida Osman continues collecting awards and making Egyptians prouder.

Her latest achievement: being named Best Female Athlete from Africa at the 2017 Association of the National Olympic Committees (ANOC) awards in Prague. The ANOC awards were established by ANOC President Sheikh Ahmed Al-Fahad Al-Sabah of Kuwait and held for the first time in Bangkok in 2014.

The event was created in order to recognise the achievements of the NOCs and their athletes as well as distinguished members of the Olympic family. Held each year, the event is an opportunity for the world’s NOCs to come together in a relaxed and entertaining environment and enjoy an evening celebrating sport.

The awards presented each year vary depending on the sporting events that have taken place that year and are decided by the ANOC jury.

The 22-year-old Osman had won the bronze medal in the 50m butterfly in the world championships held in August, clocking a time of 25.39s.

“I am so glad to be the first Egyptian ever to win a medal at World Championships,” said the Egyptian swimmer after receiving her trophy.

“It’s not only a historic moment for me but also for Egyptian, Arab and African women in general. I’d like to thank my family, my dad is here with me tonight. I’d like to thank my coach, the Egyptian Olympic Committee and my country for supporting me along this way,” she added.

Osman also broke the African record for the event for the third time, topping her previous mark set at the semi-finals by 0.25s. She missed the silver by 0.01s to Ranomi Kromowidjojo from Netherlands, while the gold was claimed by Swedish Sarah Sjoestroem who swam a 24.60s.

Farida Osman

This year’s ANOC awards named the best male and best female athletes on five continents who were honoured for their exceptional sporting achievements in 2017. The fourth edition of the event, organised by the Czech Olympic Committee, showcased the power of sports to unite nations and cultures, and reflected the ANOC’s gratitude towards the NOCs for its commitment and dedication throughout the year. The awards ceremony was broadcast by Czech TV, distributed to broadcasters all around the world, and streamed live on the ANOC YouTube Channel.

The ANOC award winners for best male and best female athlete from each continent:

Best Female Athlete from Africa 2017: Farida Osman (Egypt)

Best Male Athlete from Africa 2017: Chad Le Clos (South Africa)

Best Female Athlete from the Americas 2017: Yulimar Rojas (Venezuela)

Best Male Athlete from the Americas 2017: Trinidad and Tobago 4 x 400 team

Best Female Athlete from Asia 2017: Yu Song (China)

Best Male Athlete from Asia 2017: Mutaz Essa Barshim (Qatar)

Best Female Athlete from Europe 2017: Sarah Sjöström (Sweden)

Best Male Athlete from Europe 2017: Marcel Hirscher (Austria)

Best Female Athlete from Oceania 2017: Sarah Goss (New Zealand)

Best Male Athlete from Oceania 2017: Robbie Manson (New Zealand)

Three individual honours were also presented: Outstanding Performance for former legendary gymnast Nadia Comaneci (Romania), Outstanding Lifetime Achievement for Julio Maglione (Uruguay) and Contribution to the Olympic Movement for Michael Fennell (Jamaica).

“It has been another fantastic year of sport all around the world,” said ANOC President Sheikh Ahmed. “We have been lucky enough to witness some incredible sporting moments. The athletes and their respective NOCs and international federations are at the very heart of the Olympic movement and it is their dedication that we see year-on-year that helps create the amazing memories we have celebrated tonight.”

Al-Sabah also extended thanks to the Czech Olympic Committee for the ANOC awards, and gratitude to the world’s NOCs for their contributing to the Olympic movement.

The award winners were decided in September by the ANOC jury comprised of representatives from each of the continental associations, the ANOC Athletes’ commission chair, ASOIF president, AIOWF president and the ANOC secretary general.

add comment

  • follow us on